Skip to content

0720 April Evil

March 25, 2021

0720 April Evil 79
  • Title: April Evil
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1970
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: T2224
  • Cover Price: $0.75
  • Cover Artist: Bill Johnson

Anyone who knows me, knows that I’m always willing to admit when I’m wr … not as right as I usually am. For years I didn’t think much of this cover. There was no action. It was too dark. There was no detail. It wasn’t until Steve Scott remarked how the cover depicts a scene that doesn’t appear in the story (a pet peeve of mine) that I really looked at it.

Despite Steve’s well-deserved complaint, the cover does have a certain tension to it. It always reminds me of Nick’s line in The Big Chill when he’s asked what a TV show is about and he says, “I think the man in the hat did something terrible.” Of course, everybody in the shot is wearing a hat.

Compare the woman tied to the chair with this One Monday We Killed Them All cover. Both covers are by Bill Johnson and both woman look similar  and are dressed similarly. Today’s subject is showing more skin; her blouse is sleeveless and her blue pencil skirt is shorter and her pose is … shall we say … somewhat less ladylike, but both of them squirm in the same fascinating Bill Johnson way.

So anyway, I’m willing to admit that I was wr … not as high on the rightness spectrum as one might imagine. I like this cover.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Warren permalink
    March 25, 2021 8:02 pm

    Deciding who to go to the ” Gumshoe and Femme Fatale ” night with was particularly tough.

  2. March 26, 2021 5:25 pm

    “Hey, doll, I brung ya a rose, why woncha go to da hop wid me, huh?”

Leave a comment