Skip to content

0417 One Monday We Killed Them All

April 28, 2013
0417 One Monday We Killed Them All 930
  • Title: One Monday We Killed Them All
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1967
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: D1782
  • Cover Price: $0.50
  • Cover Artist: Bill Johnson
  • Author of: Travis McGee series

 

For completely unknown reasons, I never owned a copy of this book. I don’t mean this edition, I mean this book. I had read it once and not cared for it, but that’s no excuse; heck, I own several copies of The End of the Night and I’ve never been able to finish it a second time. Anyway, Freiler asked me which titles I was lacking and — pow! — the next time I invited him to do unpaid heavy lifting for me, he hands me a copy, so I re-read it. Not this edition, which is the 3rd printing, but the strikingly similar 4th printing which I haven’t got around to scanning yet, so you get this one. Seriously, they’re almost identical.

Where was I? Oh, yeah. The main thing I found out was that this isn’t a bad story at all. It’s a little dated, but what JDM story isn’t by now, since he’s been dead for a quarter of a century. There’s the usual painfully honest, hard-working hero, and the usual incapable-of-feeling-compassion villain (who actually kicks a dog, that’s how evil he is), but there is also a terrific climax deep in the hills of … well … some Appalachian state (JDM manages to eliminate them all!). For good measure, the cover depicts the climactic scene so honestly that I was able to identify all five characters based on their clothing alone, which makes up for the fact that … spoiler alert! … we didn’t kill them all, although those we did kill, we did kill on a Monday.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 13, 2015 3:14 pm

    Helpful synopsis, but I believe this was published in 1961 (though, of course, your copy might be a 1967 printing or edition).

Trackbacks

  1. 0865 The End of the Night |
  2. 0720 April Evil |

Leave a comment