Skip to content

0452 The Quick Red Fox

September 26, 2013
0452 Quick Red Fox, The 1061
  • Title: The Quick Red Fox
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Year: 1966
  • Publisher: Robert Hale
  • Cover Price: 15/-
  • Cover Artist: Barbara Walton (design)

Image courtesy of the John D. MacDonald Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

When John D MacDonald died, he left his papers, correspondence, etcetera, to the University of Florida Special and Area Studies Collections in Gainesville, Florida. Luckily for me, “etcetera” includes his personal collection of his own books. Also luckily for me, I attended UF and travel down there for football games (Go Gators!). Last year I stole used a bunch of their  covers for this blog. Due to my incompetence poor planning bad luck, I didn’t get all I wanted so back I went last weekend and scarfed up about a hundred more cover images. I can’t say enough about Florence Turcotte and her staff. They were over-the-top helpful. I couldn’t have done it without them.

This Red cover has to be one of the rarest JDM covers in existence. I’ve never seen it, or even a fuzzy image of it, before. I have seen it referenced exactly once by someone who was offering it for sale for the ridiculously low price of US$1205, Why the extra five bucks? Anyway, what a cover it is! The girl has to be Lyssa Dean and I particularly like the clenched fist. Mraow! Whether Barbara Walton actually drew it or just “designed” the cover, I like almost every cover she’s associated with.

And the Gators won, too. What a great weekend.

 

Leave a comment