Skip to content

0523 The Empty Copper Sea

January 20, 2014
0522 Empty Copper Sea, The 1813
  • Title: The Empty Copper Sea
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 2013
  • Publisher: Random House
  • ISBN-10: 0812984080
  • ISBN-13: 9780812984088
  • Cover Artist: photo

Another in the new Travis McGee cover series. I’ve complained before when a McGee cover fails to pick up on the color theme, but there can be no whining here. That is the copperyest sea (and sky) I have ever seen, although it is not exactly empty, well the sky is but not the sea, you know what I mean. I guess it’s meant to show loneliness instead of emptiness; you and I know they are not the same but how is some schlunky photographer supposed to know?

What I really like about this cover is the sheer oiliness of the water. How did the photographer capture that?

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a UK hardcover edition of The Empty Copper Sea, printed in 1991 by Book Club Associates.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

