Skip to content

0487 Deadly Welcome

November 11, 2013
0486 Deadly Welcome 379
  • Title: Deadly Welcome
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1966
  • Publisher: Pan
  • Collection #: X582
  • Cover Artist: unknown

I do enjoy these well-designed Pan “handcuff” covers. Even though the artwork is shrunk down more than I would like, the bright colors and cartoonish handcuffs really arrest your attention. Arrest, get it? Sometimes I just slay myself. Other times, people just wish I would.

No, seriously, I do like the cover series. The handcuffs make it clear that this is a crime story and the artwork is pretty good. I confess that I don’t remember the exact scene pictured here, which is surprising considering how much I like this novel, but maybe it’s just a good excuse to re-read it. I found the two characters to look much more British than American, whatever that may mean, the man reminding me of a very young and slim James Bond or perhaps Biggles during the War, and the girl is clearly a shop girl from Liverpool who is on holiday in Swansea and would rather be back at the Cavern Club swooning over the Silver Beetles instead of swooning in that swamp.

A solid cover.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Warren permalink
    November 14, 2013 2:05 am

    Splendid cover , just wish I could find a copy.

Leave a Reply

