Skip to content

0442 The Annex and Other Stories

September 11, 2013
0442 Annex and Other Stories, The 30
  • Title: The Annex and Other Stories
  • Language: English
  • Country: Finland
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1987
  • Publisher: Eurographica
  • ISBN-10: 9519371761
  • ISBN-13: 9789519371764
  • Cover Artist: none

I don’t see many John D MacDonald books printed in English in Finland (and at these prices, you won’t see many more — nyuk, nyuk) but today’s featured item is a rarity in more ways than one. This minimal collection of four JDM short stories (“The Annex”, “Hangover,” “End of the Tiger,” and “The Bear Trap”) was prepared for publication shortly before MacDonald’s death. Only 350 copies were printed on archival paper and apparently all of them were signed by the author, but they were never actually released. Surprisingly, they are readily available on the internet, but only at the low, low price of US$250.

Truthfully, I’m not absolutely certain that the stories are in English, since I have never seen a copy and I’m sure I never will. Perhaps someone who actually owns a copy can tell me.

Thanks to Freiler for snarkily suggesting that I post this one. Update (10/06/2013): And thanks to Freiler for supplying a much nicer cover image.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. Freiler permalink
    September 12, 2013 9:24 am

    If it makes you feel any better I was just as surprised by this one as you were. Also the cover is kind of terrible. Can I still call myself a compulsive completist if I do not own it yet?

  2. September 12, 2013 4:06 pm

    Go ahead and call yourself anything you like. We certainly do!

    When you buy it, let me know so I can borrow it. I promise to wash my hands first this time.

  3. Freiler permalink
    September 14, 2013 8:05 am

    It is a deal, as long as you also promise not to lick your hands so many times before turning the pages.

Leave a Reply

