Skip to content

0438 A Purple Place for Dying

September 6, 2013
0438 Purple Place For Dying 1028
  • Title: A Purple Place for Dying
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1969
  • Publisher: Pan
  • Cover Price: 3/6
  • Cover Artist: Photo

Image courtesy of Warren Shrimpton

Another excellent example of the Pan “Bucks and Bullets” cover. I know, I know, it’s a photo cover and therefore anathema, but c’mon, it’s really pretty good. Nobody can complain that it includes a winsome lass who seems to be having some trouble holding on to the only bit of satin that stands between her and a lucrative career in front of a live web cam. I also appreciate that the photographer did not try to Britishize (oh, wait, should that be Britishise?) the cover by using pound notes (yes, youngsters, there used to be pound notes, although I really do like the pound coins; they’re small but heavy and feel like you have some money in your pocket) instead of dollars.

I’m not sure how to take the recommendation “I never miss a McGee” from the Sun, given the presence of the bullets. Perhaps it’s a misprint and is intended as advice: “I never miss a McGee, son”.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. Warren permalink
    September 9, 2013 2:34 am

    I hate pound coins and the even worse two pound coins too. I do miss having a few knickers in my wallet. I however , love these Pan covers.

Leave a Reply

