Skip to content

0422 Bright Orange for the Shroud

May 10, 2013
0422 Bright Orange for the Shroud 1802
  • Title: Bright Orange for the Shroud
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 2013
  • Publisher: Random House
  • ISBN-10: 0812983971
  • ISBN-13: 9780812983975
  • Cover Artist: Photo

I promised you that I would show you another new McGee cover before I showed you any more of the nasty Fawcett Crest covers, so here is one. Actually, this is my least favorite among the new covers, which is a shame because I’ve always regarded Orange as the best Travis McGee story. I’m trying to remember a boat in the story (other than the Busted Flush which features in the climax, but this is definitely not the Flush), but I can’t come up with one. Old age has caught up with me at last.

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a USA paperback edition of Bright Orange for the Shroud, printed in 1999 by Random House under their Value Publishing imprint (ISBN-10 0517383802, ISBN-13 9780517383803).

3 Comments leave one →
  1. May 10, 2013 11:45 am

    Egad. I mean, hey, I’m happy there are new versions. But,… bleh.

  2. Steve Scott permalink
    May 10, 2013 12:49 pm

    That’s RATFINK, the sixteen-footer that Trav and company rented to get back and forth from Marco Village to the Busted Flush, which was anchored a mile or so away near Hurricane Pass.

    I only know this detail because I just finished re-reading ORANGE. I still love BLUE the best, but ORANGE comes in a close second.

  3. May 11, 2013 6:01 pm

    You’re right, Steve. I actually remembered the rental boat but ascribed it to Brown for no very good reason. Funny how things are obvious once somebody else tells you the answer.

Leave a Reply

