Skip to content

0403 Cinnamon Skin

February 21, 2013
0403 Cinnamon Skin 1660
  • Title: Cinnamon Skin
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: Unknown 1983
  • Publisher: Pan
  • Cover Artist: Unknown George Sharp & Chapman Bounford

Image courtesy of Warren Shrimpton

It’s been a while since I’ve been able to toss a bone to my UK readers. Here is an example of Pan’s “business card” cover style. As usual with Pan covers, it’s difficult to know when this edition was published. The online information is spotty and either people lie (!) or Pan re-used ISBNs in a mistaken attempt to ameliorate the world ISBN crop failures.

I have wondered now and again about the “one shoe” theme. The unknown artist puts a whole new spin on the concept by drawing the girl with not just one shoe, but just one leg. The sodden swamp that is my brain can’t remember that as a plot point so I’m going to have to assume a) the missing leg is tucked under the visible one, or b) it’s artistic license, or c) it’s a gross oversight by the artist. You choose.

Update (02/26/2013): Thanks to Stuart Radmore for knowing the publication year and artist. And read the comments; maybe the second leg is there after all, although the shoe is still missing.

Update (04/02/2013): Thanks to Warren Shrimpton for a much nicer scan. Yep, both legs are there. Unfortunately, so are both shoes. I’m glad I didn’t know this when I wrote this post or I wouldn’t have had anything to say.

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a UK hardcover large print edition of The Deep Blue Good-by, titled, in inimical British fashion The Deep Blue Good-bye, printed in 1978 by Lythway Press (ISBN-10 0850468132, ISBN-13 9780850468137).

4 Comments leave one →
  1. stuart radmore permalink
    February 21, 2013 4:35 pm

    I have this book; I can help you

    First Pan edition was in 1983. This is the 2nd printing

    “Cover design and illustration by George Sharp/Chapman Bounford”

    The lady does have two legs; that shadow under her right leg is in fact her left leg

    Also, there’s a trickle of blood from her right armpit.

    And, yeah, its been a while since we’ve seen a Pan cover

  2. Warren Shrimpton permalink
    February 22, 2013 11:00 am

    My edition is the same , her left toe is just visible above her right.

  3. February 26, 2013 3:50 pm

    Thanks, guys. My image isn’t good enough to see the detail. If either of you could send me a better scan, you will become famous worldwide and women will beat down your doors.

  4. Warren Shrimpton permalink
    March 6, 2013 2:52 am

    Chris , I thought I had but haven’t. I will do so a.s.a.p.

Leave a Reply

