Skip to content

0372 The End of the Night

November 21, 2012
  • Title: The End of the Night
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1966
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: D1633
  • Cover Price: $0.50
  • Cover Artist: Barye Phillips
  • Author of: Travis McGee series

 

We have seen this artwork before, but now we get to see it without the title covering part of it, albeit at the expense of the editor chopping off part of the top. As time went on, they kept chopping until only a portion of the girl and man were left. As I said then, this is an excellent cover for a truly dismal book; MacDonald’s worst in my humble opinion.

If you would rather just read a review, instead of the book itself (which is my recommendation), you can find one here. The writer was able to extract some good out of the story, which was more than I could do.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 21, 2012 5:52 pm

    I hope no one will be discouraged from reading this by your comment. I thought this early work was one of his best. But I guess we have different tastes. I seem to recall your liking Clemmie, which I found unbearingly awful!

Leave a Reply

