Skip to content

0356 Aut aut

October 28, 2012
  • Title: Aut aut
  • English Title: Dilemma
  • Canon: Dead Low Tide
  • Language: Italian
  • Country: Italy
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Year: Unknown
  • Publisher: Longanesi
  • Collection: I Gialli proibiti
  • Collection #: 63
  • Cover Price: 500 lira
  • Cover Artist: Photo

Image courtesy of the John D. MacDonald Collection, Special and Area Studies Collections, George A. Smathers Libraries, University of Florida, Gainesville, Florida.

This previously milk cartoned Italian edition of Dead Low Tide was another gem from the UF library. I’ve known about the edition for years but had never seen a cover for it. Apparently, “aut aut” is Italian slang for “dilemma”, but I have long since forgotten where I heard that.

I don’t believe for a second that this book came out in 1958 as WorldCat claims. Italian JDMs of that era looked like this and cost only 150 lira. I can’t believe I had this puppy in my very hands but was so rushed for time that I didn’t have time to look at the title page!

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

