Skip to content

0343 Vendetta palace

October 13, 2012
  • Title: Vendetta palace
  • English Title:xVendetta palace
  • Canon: The Empty Trap
  • Language: French
  • Country: France
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1984
  • Publisher: Gallimard
  • Collection: Carré Noir
  • Collection #: 525
  • ISBN-10: 2070435253
  • ISBN-13: 9782070435258
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

French covers tend to be either startling or soporific. This one sits solidly in the former slot. Those eyes! They have disturbed my sleep ever since I first saw them.

At first, I thought the cover depicted a madman inside a box being wound by a clock key (hey, isn’t that the obvious interpretation?), but eventually I figured out that it shows a terrified man in a rearview mirror. I don’t think I’m giving anything away when I say that it depicts the drive-over-the-cliff scene from the story.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

