Skip to content

0297 Die mexikanische Heirat

June 2, 2012
  • Title: Die mexikanische Heirat
  • English Title: The Mexican Wedding
  • Canon: The Crossroads
  • Language: German
  • Country: Germany
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1964
  • Publisher: Goldmann
  • Collection: Taschen-Krimi
  • Collection #: 2050
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

I’ll be up front about this. It has been many a year since I have read The Crossroads, even in English, and perhaps it is time to return to it. But I think I remember the plot, and my memory jibes with the brief summaries you can find out there. So why on Earth is this edition titled The Mexican Wedding? I won’t say there are no Mexicans in the story, but I don’t remember any. Is the phrase a German equivalent of “Chinese fire drill”? “Nein, I’ll never work at that place again. It was a real Mexican wedding.”

The striking red and black cover shows a woman wearing vertical stripes (very slimming, you know) writing “thank you” in German. I am not about to quibble with this; perhaps someone who has read the book in this century can tell me whether this is a critical plot point. I’m more interested in what she writing with. Possibilities are:

  • Keychain flashlight
  • Lipstick
  • Electric chalk
  • The world’s smallest vibrator
No comments yet

Leave a Reply

