Skip to content

0295 Please Write for Details

May 31, 2012
  • Title: Please Write for Details
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: about 1980
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: 14080-6
  • ISBN-10: 0449140806
  • ISBN-13: 9780449140802
  • Cover Price: $2.25
  • Cover Artist: Robert McGinnis
  • Author of: The Green Ripper

 

A long time ago, I said that I didn’t care for this story but that I might read it again. It was a slow day indeed at the Rivah, and I knew Freiler was coming and he’s the one who recommended I give it another try, and I had just picked up this very edition (I didn’t put the stain on it. Honest.), and well, I just broke down and read the damned thing.

Okay, it was better than I remembered. I remembered Miles Drummond as a pathetic character, which he is, but he comes off as less comedic and slightly more realistic the second time around. I still think the whole Margarita bit is ‘way over the top and not one of MacDonald’s better moments. The Colonel is still too one dimensional, but his “death” scene gives him some rounding out and makes him more human. Bitsy’s transformation from slut to devoted bride was and remains ridiculous. Klauss gets what he deserves in typical JDM fashion. Torrigan’s pompous character was more nuanced than I remembered, but Gloria steals the show. I honestly can’t tell whether her character is any different at the end of the novel than at the beginning, but she certainly rides a roller coaster in between. I found myself looking forward to her scenes, whereas the first time I read it, she just seemed mean.

The cover is a typical McGinnis of the period: a montage of characters drawn to different scales. The only person I can definitely recognize is Gloria, who is standing next to the sports car. I suppose by his vapid expression that the large head is supposed to be Miles, but Miles is in his fifties, has gray hair, and wears glasses. I’ll hazard a guess that the other girl is Barbara, but who knows? The man in the hat is a cypher.

I like how the adobe building (is that supposed to be the hotel?) sits on the easel.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

