Skip to content

0294 The Empty Trap

May 24, 2012
  • Title: The Empty Trap
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1968
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: R2147
  • Cover Price: $0.60
  • Cover Artist: McDaniel
  • Author of: Travis McGee series

 

I do like this story. There are several much more interesting covers (like here and here and even here), but this one is the one that most people recognize and it has its own quaint charm even though it is totally innocuous. This 1968 edition is a reprint (with a 20% price jump) from the 1967 edition. The cover is signed “McDaniel”; I don’t know who this is, but the cartoonish drawing of Sylvia leaving the hotel to run away from her mobster husband flies in the face of traditional pulp cover paintings. Her crazy 1960s dress pattern is competing with the sickening whirls of the carpet in a cage match to the death in their attempt to upset my digestion. And did women still travel with hat boxes then? I like the little touches, like the mostly obscured “Do Not Disturb” sign, her stiletto heeled pumps, and the black bra strap hanging off her shoulder.

I want to thank Peter Cahan for suggesting this site that has a zillion paperback covers scanned. Although I had seen it a year ago, I forgot about it and it has been updated since then, so I have a number of holes in my collection filled. Thanks, Peter!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2012 9:56 pm

    The picture seems to be missing….

    • May 31, 2012 10:33 am

      I don’t know what the problem is. I can see it. Anyone else?

Leave a Reply

