Skip to content

0253 One More Sunday

March 25, 2012
  • Title: One More Sunday
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: about 1985
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Crest
  • Collection #: 20703-X
  • ISBN-10: 044920703X
  • ISBN-13: 9780449207031
  • Cover Price: $4.95
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

 

Look familiar? It would to Lisbeth Salander. If she read this blog. If she existed. This cover is absolutely identical to this one, price, ISBN, lousy artwork, everything, except that today’s cover has the title is in red instead of white (or silver, it’s hard to tell). You think it’s easy to write about these things when that’s the only difference? Obviously, the two must be different printings, but why would Fawcett go to the trouble to change the title color but nothing else? Maybe the red one came out first and subsequent printings economized by eliminating a color.

And why did Fawcett print this under their Crest imprint instead of Gold Medal? A mystery, indeed!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. March 25, 2012 8:29 pm

    These probably came out at the same time. I can remember any number of paperbacks that came out with different color variations on the same cover. I guess it was a way to attract attention on the shelves.

  2. March 26, 2012 2:11 am

    Didn’t Crest serve as reprints, and Gold Medal for originals? That might just be a rule of thumb, but I know that Any Given Sunday had a hardcover, non-Fawcett printing.

  3. March 26, 2012 2:12 am

    Oops, forgot to mention – if I was forced at gunpoint, this would probably be my favorite JDM. Or, at the very least, top three. I think. Argh.

  4. March 26, 2012 3:39 pm

    Jared, I think that might have been Fawcett’s original idea, but just off the top of my head I can think of two of JDM’s books (A Flash of Green and More Good Old Stuff) that premiered in hardcover but had later paperback editions under the Gold Medal imprint. I’m sure there were others. Besides, your theory doesn’t explain why all of the Travis McGees are currently printed as Fawcett Crest although every one of them appeared as Gold Medals for years.

    Although I enjoyed One More Sunday, it wouldn’t be at the top of my list. I can’t make Sophie’s choice, but Clemmie and The Only Girl in the Game would be right up there. Oops, I forgot The Girl, the Gold Watch & Everything.

  5. March 26, 2012 3:42 pm

    D.A., your idea is as good as anything I can come up with. I’ve seen similar things done with magazine covers, so why not?

Leave a Reply

