Skip to content

0246 Clemmie

March 16, 2012
  • Title: Clemmie
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1988
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: 13347-8
  • ISBN-10: 0449133478
  • ISBN-13: 9780449133477
  • Cover Price: $2.95
  • Cover Artist: Unknown William Schmidt
  • Author of: Barrier Island

 

I’ve said before how much I enjoy this story, but it bears repeating. No other JDM book pulls me in this hard each and every time I read it.

Years ago, I saw Psycho (the original, sigh) in a college movie theater. Apparently, I was the only one there who hadn’t seen it before. When Bates chases Lila towards the end, she stops at the staircase, looks up, looks down, which way should she go? Everybody in the audience knew that Mother was downstairs and began screaming at Lila to go upstairs instead. She didn’t listen.

I feel like that audience whenever I read this book. I want to yell at Craig, “Leave her alone, you fool!” He doesn’t listen.

Brian Noggle has a short review here. He agrees with me that this other cover depicts Clemmie as too old.

Update (08/21/2013): The artist is William Schmidt.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

