Skip to content

0235 The Long Lavender Look

March 15, 2012
  • Title: The Long Lavender Look
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Year: 1972
  • Publisher: Lippincott
  • ISBN-10: 0397007396
  • ISBN-13: 9780397007394
  • Cover Artist: Photo

 

Note: Argh! Here’s another post that didn’t post when it was scheduled to. I guess when you use a free blogging service, you shouldn’t complain, but I can certainly think unpleasant thoughts.

I made the mistake a short while back of saying that maybe photo covers weren’t so bad. What was I thinking? Good lord, this one is awful. For starters, Travis McGee is an American while, at the risk of alienating my vast (well, half-vast) British following (you know who you are!), this woman is decidedly English. I’m not knocking the UK ladies (I hope that’s not a Brit euphemism) like some do, but I can’t see ole Trav going for her.

And who is she supposed to be? She’s certainly not Lilo Perris, who was once referred to as a “swamp rat”. Perhaps she is meant to be Betsy Kapp, described by the same person as “a one-night-stand piece of southern darlin’ fluff”. Nope, this girl is too sophisticated. It’s apparent to me that Lippincott had these photos sitting around and decided to use them here rather than … oh, what’s the phrase? … do some work to put out a decent cover.

Rant over.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. warren shrimpton permalink
    March 16, 2012 2:56 pm

    You’ve stumbled on something a bit complicated here. The UK is a country , actually 2 ( England and Scotland ) and a principlality ( Wales ) and also a province ( Northern Ireland ). No-one live in the UK , they all live in their relative places. Some people call themselves British , some don’t. I’m English not British. Alot of people who are Scottish or Welsh take great offense at being called British. Northern Ireland is even more complicated. Unionists call themselves British but they’re not. It’s the United Kingdom of Great Britain AND Northern Ireland. Hope this has clarified things. The young lady in question is welcome to come round for tea and crumpets anytime. Wherever she’s from , she’s a fox :O)
    .

  2. March 16, 2012 6:36 pm

    Cor, where do I start? First of all, everything you say is common knowledge. Well, not in the US, where I’ve never met a single person not related to me who knows anything about the differences you mention. They don’t care either, for which we’re probably going to pay by electing Santorum (google it, hee hee, read the second hit) as the next president, God help us all.

    Secondly, I would take you to task for failing to mention two Bailiwicks and a certain Crown Dependency, but you would probably fall back on facts again, pointing out that they are technically not part of the UK. Yes, I’ve watched Hitchcock’s “The Manxman”.

    Thirdly, I was not deprecating English, Welsh, Scottish (I’m not making the typical rookie “Scotch” mistake), Northern Irish, British, or UKish women by saying that ole Trav wouldn’t go for them; I’m just saying that he likes American women. Yes, yes, Jillian Brent-Archer, I know. Exception proves rule, etc.

    Fourthly, I’ll bring the tea. Her crumpets are Deemed Acceptable.

  3. warren shrimpton permalink
    March 16, 2012 11:05 pm

    You just shade this on points , so I’ll leave this conversation as it is. You wouldn’t believe how uptight people get about like this. Personally I think her crumpets are way more than ‘acceptable ‘.

Leave a Reply

