Skip to content

0240 Cinnamon Skin

March 8, 2012
 
  • Title: Cinnamon Skin
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Year: 1986
  • Publisher: Robert Hale
  • ISBN-10: 0709027230
  • ISBN-13: 9780709027232
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

Shouldn’t this book be called Cinnamonfinger? I guess not, because instead of a gold-painted girl on the cover, this book has a … er … gold-painted girl. As my father would have said, “Curious.”

What intrigues me more than an entirely accidental I’m sure James Bond ripoff is why the auric lady has been worked into the design of an anchor. I thought for a while about the story (yes, my eyes were closed; it helps me concentrate; jeez, you’re just like my boss) and couldn’t remember anything about an anchor in the story. Turns out I’m wrong, the word “anchor” appears exactly four times in the book, three of them referring obliquely to the destruction of the John Maynard Keynes (oopsie, just ignore that if you haven’t read the book) and once in a terribly cute Travis nautical metaphor. So the cover design has nothing to do with the story other than it does revolve around a boat. Kind of.

How do I know the word appears four times? Because some idiotic website has put the entire text out there for you to read without forking over a dime to Dorothy MacDonald. I hold the rather quaint notion that an artist should be paid for his work, so no, I won’t tell you where the website it. I also reported this piracy to Random House, Fawcett’s parent corporation, who graciously allowed me to record a message and never got back to me. Why do I bother?

Update (03/09/2012): I should have waited a little longer. A representative of the Random House legal department called me and told me they have issued a take down order to the offending site.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. March 9, 2012 11:49 am

    I don’t think Dorothy MacDonald cares much at this point… she’s been dead for over twenty years. Their son Maynard probably does, though…

  2. March 9, 2012 1:16 pm

    Oh fine, now you’re using facts against me. I thought the purpose of the internet was to allow anyone to say anything without taking responsibility.

    *sigh* Thanks for the correction. I’ll endeavour to keep my future unsubstantied statements a little more difficult to refute.

Leave a Reply

