Skip to content

0236 Einmal Hölle und zurück

March 4, 2012
  • Title: Einmal Hölle und zurück
  • English Title: Once to Hell and Back
  • Canon: A Bullet for Cinderella
  • Language: German
  • Country: Germany
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1966
  • Publisher: Heyne
  • Collection: Heyne-Bücher
  • Collection #: 1207
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

Now this is what I call a cover! First of all, and I hope I’m giving nothing away to those who haven’t read the book, the cover captures Cindy perfectly. Amazingly, so does this cover, which is 180 degrees different.

Secondly, I just love the detail that makes the bar scene real. Sure, the hook is her already too-short dress, hiked up by sitting on a bar stool, and slit to the waist as well, showing off her smooth silken skin, her lush firm thighs, her … where was I? Oh, yeah. Details. This is clearly a serious bar that serves hard drinks for men who want to get drunk fast, and doesn’t need any characters around to give the joint atmosphere. It’s a nice looking bar (check out the elaborate carved wood), but it’s also a seedy place because … well … they’re serving Negroes! Hey, don’t take my word for it; look closely in the background.

I like the way they are both holding cigarets in a very casual, and thus realistic, way. He’s drinking a martini from a no-nonsense cocktail glass, not one of those wide-brimmed fru fru glasses, so you know he’s a man’s drinker. She’s got a fruity drink in a highball glass, so she’s probably the local floozy.

I don’t know who the artist is, but I wish I did. When we add all this detail to his magnificently drawn wrinkles in her dress (it’s damned hard to draw realistic wrinkles), it makes for one excellent cover.

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a German paperback edition of The Executioners, titled Ein Köder für die Bestie (A Bait for the Beast), printed in 2001 by Universitätsbibliothek.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Craig Speece permalink
    March 4, 2012 10:26 pm

    Did you reverse your normal “English Title” and “Canon” protocol?

  2. March 5, 2012 11:07 am

    Good lord, if I knew that anybody actually read this thing, I would proofread it more carefully. Ok, I would proofread period. Well, I would at least look up the definition of “proofread”.

    Seriously,thanks for the catch, Craig. I have fixed it.

Leave a Reply

