Skip to content

0226 The Quick Red Fox

February 23, 2012
  • Title: The Quick Red Fox
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1973
  • Publisher: Macmillan
  • Collection: Pan
  • ISBN-10: 0330024000
  • ISBN-13: 9780330024006
  • Cover Artist: Photo

 

I always feel a bit uncomfortable about the Pan license plate covers. On one hand, the license plate is a clever hook and provides a readily recognizable brand for the Travis McGee line. On the other hand (I know, I know, she wore a glove. How did gloves become obligatory fashion accessories? And why are they not now? And how on earth did people keep them clean?), the women (or girls, really) pictured on the covers are veddy British, while Travis is vurry American, and besides, with all due respect to Richard, to whom they were apparently his adolescent companions, too many of them look like boys. No, that’s not fair; the vast majority of them are womanly, but Red, Gold, Lavender and (yikes!) Lemon make me shift uneasily in my seat.

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. February 23, 2012 5:28 pm

    I’m only commenting because I wouldn’t want you to think I’m not here. Mainly because I’m hoping for more info on your Amsterdam trips.

Leave a Reply

