Skip to content

0205 Cry Hard, Cry Fast

January 18, 2012
  • Title: Cry Hard, Cry Fast
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1966
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: D1739
  • Cover Price: $0.50
  • Cover Artist: Robert McGinnis
  • Author of: Travis McGee series

 

“Yeah, toots, I know my suit is three sizes too big, but don’t cry; I got it on sale for just $24.95.”

She couldn’t help it. She always wept as she buttoned up his shirt.

“Oh, Donald, I p-p-put on this special d-d-dress just for you and now I’ve s-s-pilled flour on it!”

Although he knew he looked ridiculous standing stiffly in front of clear plastic sheeting, he, at least, was determined to hold back the tears.

Lowest score ever on Dancing with the Stars.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2013 6:30 am

    McGinnis did the cover for Gold Medal “Cry Hard, Cry Fast”, but not this one. He did M2906, P3510, 3969 and 12634. The cover art for D1739 was used again in 1969 on R2046 and the artist is unknown, but reminds me of Charles Binger.

    • February 11, 2013 5:12 pm

      I don’t know myself whether Robert McGinnis drew this cover or not, but Steve Scott says he did. If you can convince him otherwise, I would be happy to change the credit here.

      • February 12, 2013 9:18 pm

        Thanks for the feedback. I am not a McGinnis cover art expert – I got all my info from an excellent book called “The Paperback Covers of Robert McGinnis” by Art Scott and Dr. Wallace Maynard. However, thanks for the link to Steve Scott’s (hmm… ‘Scott’, I wonder if he’s related to Art Scott?) blog… it’s very informative.

Leave a Reply

