Skip to content

0204 The Executioners

January 17, 2012
  • Title: The Executioners
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Year: 1992
  • Publisher: Severn House
  • ISBN-10: 0727843931
  • ISBN-13: 9780727843937
  • Cover Price: £13.00
  • Cover Artist: Taylor

 

It’s been several months since I’ve seen a JDM cover that’s new to me and I have Warren Shrimpton in the UK to thank for this one. I like it. It’s very spare and remarkably clear of the usual clutter that publishers feel they have to add. The artwork is signed “TAYLOR”. Don’t know who he or she is, but s/he (darn this political correctness) does an outstanding job of capturing the madness of Max Cady. Blow it up and see for yourself: the eyes, the sweat, the fiendishly upswept eyebrows.

I’m sure you know my feelings about modern covers, but I’m snark-free today. This is an excellent cover.

One Comment leave one →
  1. warren shrimpton permalink
    January 17, 2012 3:13 pm

    Well spotted regarding the artist because I missed it. Many thanks for the credit too.

Leave a Reply

