Skip to content

0201 Herrscher der Galaxis

January 13, 2012
  • Title: Herrscher der Galaxis
  • English Title: Ruler of the Galaxy
  • Canon: Ballroom of the Skies
  • Language: German
  • Country: Germany
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1967
  • Publisher: Heyne
  • Collection: Heyne-Bucher
  • Collection #: 3092
  • Cover Artist: Paul Lehr

 

This German translation of Ballroom of the Skies has a lot going on. First of all, there is actually a visible signature on the painting; unfortunately, I can’t read it. (Update 01/17/2012: It’s Paul Lehr. Thanks, Steve!) Secondly, it’s hard to draw a person running; at least, it’s hard to do it well. The woman looks frozen in place (really? not a hair out of place while you’re running for your life?), although she has more than her coiffure  to worry about since it appears she is about to step into an open manhole. However, the guy is well rendered (that’s not a euphemism for anything, is it?). I like the way he is bent over, leaning forward, and his weight really is on his forward foot.

I can’t imagine why the artist drew a flock of birds in the background just above the chasing man’s head.

Update (01/17/2012): Since Steve Scott pointed out in a comment below that the cover was lifted from another, earlier book, I have to say that when I first saw this cover, I thought “Hey, they stole this picture from a Robert A. Heinlein book!” Since I started reading Heinlein years before I started in on JDM, I have stacks of old Heinlein paperbacks (perhaps fodder for another blog!), so I dredged through them and came up with this:

As you can see, I was dead wrong (again!) about it being plagiarized, but all of the same concepts are there (except the flock of birds). It’s amazing that the brain can make associations like that.

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a German paperback edition of The Executioners, titled Ein Köder für die Bestie (A Bait for the Beast), printed in 2001 by Universitätsbibliothek.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. January 16, 2012 6:50 am

    As you can see here, this cover is an old one.

    Crest 342

    • January 17, 2012 11:22 am

      What a great find, Steve! I wasn’t going to mention my first thought when I saw the cover, but since you brought it up, see the post for my update. And thanks for the artist identification.

  2. January 17, 2012 4:26 pm

    There are many ‘Twincovers’ in Europe all from American Paperbacks. Germany, Holland, France all looked with great surprise at the record sales of the American Paperback and tried to copy the covers and use the same ‘blurr’-teksts to attact the eager readers.

    UK_vintage
    The Netherlands

    • January 21, 2012 5:22 pm

      I’ve seen quite a few Twincovers in the science fiction genre, but this is the first John D MacDonald twincover I’ve seen (other than Bertil Hegland’s Swedish/Finnish twins, which hardly count since Bertil is the exception to every rule!).

Leave a Reply

