Skip to content

0195 April Evil

January 5, 2012
  • Title: April Evil
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1976 or 1967
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: 1-3619-1
  • Cover Price: $1.50
  • Cover Artist: Robert McGinnis
  • Author of: The Dreadful Lemon Sky

 

In the spirit of the season, I’m posting a cover given to me for Christmas (thanks, Freiler!). One of the good things about this blog is that it forces me to look closer at cover art that I’ve seen for years, and I’m constantly finding new things that I haven’t noticed before.

Firstly, this has to be McGinnis, although I can’t prove it. It has every hallmark except the cloud and setting sun. Perhaps someone can confirm. Update (06/13/2012): McClaverty agrees with me, so McGinnis it is.

I never noticed how many people populate this cover. There are six individuals, plus a disembodied arm, drawn in three different scales. How did the artist make this work? Lenora, the girl with the enormous head, is the focus, of course. She is smiling, but she doesn’t look happy, and the church window in the background suggests a funeral. Why is she holding daffodils? Is she narcissistic? Flower joke! Sometimes I just slay myself.

Moving down in scale, we have Dr. Tomlin, aka Mr. Liverspots. Check out that hand. Rich, powerful, old, and smart. I don’t know why he gets stuck with the extra arm next to him. Wait, I think it’s supposed to be his own left arm, but if so, someone broke both the ulnus and radia for it to hang that way. Don’t ask me how I know, but I believe in researching my posts.

Lastly, we have Boss Hogg in a rocking chair with his two goons. We know they are goons because one is blonde and one dark-haired (contrast, see?) and one of them has a hand on his hip. Low grade bad guys.

And lastly lastly, there is the sunbathing girl, Sally Leon. JDM liked to write about sunbathing girls because of the suggestion that they do so naked. I’m thinking of you, Linda. This one is acceptably covered, but how on earth did she get that tan line? Does she sunbathe in granny panties?

Update (04/25/2013): This is either the 5th or 6th printing, so it came out in 1976 or 1967.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

