Skip to content

0187 Een dag oponthoud

December 12, 2011
  • Title: Een dag oponthoud
  • English Title: A Day of Delay
  • Canon: The Damned
  • Language: Dutch
  • Country: Netherlands
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1954
  • Publisher: Schoonderbeek
  • Cover Artist: None

I know what you’re thinking. “He says it’s a paperback, but it sure looks like a hardcover. I think he’s starting to lose it.”

Well, I have news for you. I lost it a long time ago.

But it does look like a hardcover. Albeit a very ugly one. I wish I kept better notes because I clearly remember a source saying it was a paperback before I ever saw the cover, so I assume that this copy is a library paperback that has ugly cardboard covers added to protect it. I sure would like to see what the original cover looks like — if there is one — because Dutch covers tend to be pretty good

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a Dutch paperback (no, really, I am!) version of Murder in the Wind, titled Moord in de storm (Murder in the Storm), printed in 1976 by Bruna. Update (07/16/2012): Found it! You can see it here.

One Comment leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 4:48 pm

    You are right about the Library version. Schoonderbeek provided a lot of local Library of Books. To protect them they use thick cardboard but sometimes past the original covers within the Book. The Dutch cover you are missing is a ‘Twincover’ of the cover of the American Gold Medal 240 The Damned. Including the blurr tekst: “I wish i had written this Book! Mickey Spillane”

Leave a Reply

