Skip to content

0178 Illa ute

November 26, 2011
  • Title: Illa ute
  • English Title: Trouble
  • Canon: Short Story
  • Language: Swedish
  • Country: Sweden
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1972
  • Publisher: Wahlströms
  • Collection: Poplärdeckaren
  • Collection #: 20
  • Cover Price: 2.95 kroner
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

Now here’s an unusual one. No no, not a Swedish JDM without a Bertil Hegland cover. This book contains a single short story, which is a Swedish translation of “The Doll”, which was originally published in Cosmopolitan in November 1952. I have identified eight of these oddballs, in five different languages, but their covers remain mostly elusive. I haven’t read this story, so I have no idea if the cover illustrates a scene from the story.

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am a Swedish short story published alone in a single volume titled Ana det värsta (Suspect the Worst), printed in 1972 by Wahlströms as Lördagsdeckaren 16. I am a translation of “Six Golden Pennies”, originally published in Cosmopolitan in 1952.

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 26, 2011 12:07 pm

    Wow! I had no idea that story had ever been anthologized. Luckily I own a copy of the magazine where it originally appeared, so I won’t have to start learning Swedish.

Leave a Reply

