Skip to content

0111 A Tan and Sandy Silence

September 19, 2011
 

  • Title: A Tan and Sandy Silence
  • Language: English
  • Country: UK
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1973
  • Publisher: Pan
  • ISBN-10: 0330239597
  • ISBN-13: 9780330239592
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

What a great thing is the internet thingy. Even greater are the people on it. Well, some of them. In particular, you, Richard. This is the second cover you have dredged up for me and if I work this right I can go on permanent holiday while you and others scrape the verdigris off the far and lonely corners of the earth with your fingernails while doing my job for me.

Needless to say, I haven’t seen this cover before, and it certainly belies my earlier comment that the license plate covers feature boyish-looking women. This girl ain’t no boy. Although if you hang around, I will prove that there are some.

All kidding aside, thank you, Richard.

One Comment leave one →
  1. Richard permalink
    September 19, 2011 6:38 pm

    You’re most welcome. This is quite fun, and coincides quite happily with my current project of buying up lots of old JDMs to acquaint myself with his non-McGee output. Though as it happens, I’m currently reading a little batch of Travis adventures in parallel. (You finish one, briefly consider buying a houseboat and dusting down the Bullworker, and then reach for another.)

    My reading over the last few weeks – because I know you’re really interested – has been:

    The Price of Murder (Fawcett Paperback, 70s?)
    April Evil (Fawcett Paperback, 70s?)
    The Deceivers (haven’t quite finished it yet, finding it a bit dull. Am hoping the betrayed wife goes on murderous rampage with a machete in the last third but fear I will be disappointed. Fawcett Paperback, 70s?)
    McGee: Gold
    McGee: Orange (this and Gold part of Robert Hale UK omnibus edition, also includes Red Fox)
    McGee: Amber (Rather unpleasant US Ballantine/Fawcett Gold Medal edition from late 80s with pic of boat)
    Currently reading: McGee: Yellow (also US Ballantine edition, bloody icepick on cover); The Executioners (boring movie tie-in paperback edition)

    Up next: The Beach Girls (70s Fawcett paperback again); All These Condemned (Robert Hale hardback I think, not got it to hand).

Leave a Reply

