Skip to content

0077 A Friendship

August 15, 2011
  • Title: A Friendship
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Hardcover
  • Year: 1986
  • Publisher: Knopf
  • ISBN-10: 0394552695
  • ISBN-13: 9780394552699
  • Cover Price: $18.95
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

We’ve now seen at least one instance of each fiction title that JDM produced, so we’ll move on to the non-fiction. The full title of this one is A Friendship: The Letters of Dan Rowan and John D. MacDonald 1967-1974, but c’mon, who would type all that? A Friendship is not really a book that MacDonald wrote; it is actually a series of letters written by him and Dan Rowan (yes, that Dan Rowan) to each other. I haven’t read it — I’ve never even seen it — so I can’t comment on it, but Steve Powell has, and does.

I do like the caricatures on the cover.

Update (08/23/2013): Added the cover price.

3 Comments leave one →
  1. August 15, 2011 6:07 pm

    Thank you for the link. I found ‘A Friendship’ to be a deeply moving, funny and sometimes thrilling book which charts the blossoming, decline and eventual rebirth of a friendship between two remarkable men. I would recommend it to anyone.

    Perhaps you might also be interested to read a follow-up piece I wrote which examines some individual letters from the collection in which Rowan and MacDonald discuss an idea for a television show which sadly never came to fruition:

    http://venetianvase.co.uk/2010/03/02/dan-rowan-and-john-d-macdonalds-idea-for-a-television-show/

    I love that cover! I received my copy of the book through inter-library loan and it was a hardback with no cover. Thanks.

    • August 22, 2011 11:44 pm

      What a pity the TV show was never done. It sounds like it would have been fascinating, a terror to keep going, and have abysmal ratings. I would have watched it, and I would have forced my date to, also.
      Thanks for your comment, the first one on my blog that I did not write myself. psst! Tell the others…

  2. Freiler permalink
    September 8, 2013 11:12 am

    Wait, Every fiction title has been seen? What about The Annex and Other Stories from 1987?

Leave a Reply

