Skip to content

0043 The Neon Jungle

July 12, 2011
 

  • Title: The Neon Jungle
  • Language: English
  • Country: USA
  • Format: Paperback
  • Year: 1953
  • Publisher: Fawcett
  • Collection: Gold Medal
  • Collection #: 323
  • Cover Price: none
  • Cover Artist: Unknown

 

Here is a return to the multiple-character story that I thought when I was young that John D MacDonald invented, until my father shook his head and handed me The Bridge of San Luis Rey. Hey, I was just a teenager. It feels dated to me but the characters are pretty well done. Steve Scott shines again with dagummit another excellent review, so I’ll just step aside and you can read it.

I like this cover. The unusual perspective makes you feel like you’re peeking into their bedroom windows … hey, wait … you are! My God, what’s going on in there? You can’t see it here, but the cover wraps around the back. Very nice.

Milk Carton

Have you seen me? I am the British version of The Neon Jungle, printed in 1954 by Muller as #57.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. January 17, 2012 5:38 pm

    You can see the front and back cover here:

    Gold Medal 323 + backcover

    • January 20, 2012 7:15 pm

      Thanks. That cover is a beauty and the wraparound is even better.

Leave a Reply

